Mailtrack complies with European Regulation (EU) 2016/679 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 27 April 2016 on the protection of natural persons with regard to the processing of personal data, and on the free movement of such data and repealing Directive 95/46/ EC (“GDPR”) and applicable data protection laws. With Mailtrack, your data is secure and your emails are private.
When you sign up for Mailtrack, you will be asked to give us permission to access your Gmail and process your emails. We need to obtain these permissions for technical reasons necessary to provide the service, but they are automatic processes with no human intervention. No one from the Mailtrack team has access to your emails.
Regarding the security of your data. All privacy-sensitive data is encrypted. In addition, Mailtrack undergoes a mandatory security audit by Google every year.
You can rest assured that your data is private and secure. However, if you want to understand what these permissions do in detail, you can find an explanation here:
- SEND: This permission is required to add a tracking pixel before your email is delivered. After the pixel is added, Mailtrack will send your email on your behalf. Mailtrack will not send any emails on your behalf other than your own.
- READ: Mailtrack requires the “Read” permission to make copies of your emails. These copies are necessary if you are sending an email to multiple recipients or an email campaign.
- DELETE: This permission is required because when you read your own tracked emails, you may create a false open, i.e. an open that is not made by the recipient but by yourself. To prevent such false opens, Mailtrack replaces each tracked email you send with an exact copy, but without the tracking pixel. After the copy is made, the original email with the pixel must be deleted. No information is lost in the process; deletion is simply a technical operation to ensure the quality of the tracking.
- INSERT EMAIL IN YOUR INBOX: This permission is required to add email notifications to your Gmail inbox when your emails are opened.
- MANAGE YOUR BASIC EMAILS SETTINGS: Mailtrack needs to know your settings (e.g. alias, design style) to work properly.
- MANAGE LABELS: The checkmarks in mobile devices are added as labels. Mailtrack needs this permission to add labels (checkmarks) to your emails and update them when your emails are opened.
Read and change your data on a number of websites (All usergooglecontent.com sites, all mailtrack.io sites, inbox.google.com, mail.google.com, mailtrack.io). Mailtrack modifies the Gmail and Google Inbox websites to display our checkmarks, as well as the Mailtrack website. You can stop THE MAIL TRACK COMPANY from accessing your Google account here. In this case, you will no longer be able to use the service.